Santa Stuck in the Chimney!

1

Posted by agathan1516 | Posted in Language Arts | Posted on December 17, 2015

One Christmas Eve I was almost asleep when I heard THUMP, THUMP, and THUMP!  I went downstairs to get some chocolate milk and then I heard it again THUMP. I went to the living room and then I heard get me out of here!

I went to the chimney. I reached into the chimney and I grabbed a red and white hat. I heard a voice exclaim, “Give me my hat back.” I jump backed with a fright.  I couldn’t believe it!  Someone was in the chimney!

I looked up the chimney and I saw Santa! Santa exclaimed, “I am stuck in your chimney. Please help!”   I thought to myself I will try to get Santa out with melted butter.  I went to the kitchen and placed some butter into a pot on the stove.  The butter SIZZLED and SPUTTERED.  I let it cool for a few minutes and then poured some down the chimney. Santa said, “I’m still stuck. But it didn’t work!”

I went to the garage and grabbed a rope.  I went on the roof and to the chimney and threw the rope down. Santa started to slip! Santa still didn’t get out.

I thought about getting soap and water.  I went to the bathroom and filled a bucket with soap and water. I went on the roof and poured the soap and water down the chimney. “I’m slipping, but I’m not down yet,” exclaimed Santa! The soap and water did not work either.  What do I do?

Then I went to the kitchen and got cooking oil. Santa exclaimed, “Thank you for saving me!  Now go to bed and don’t tell your family. Sweet dreams and Merry Christmas!” “Okay,” I replied.   

Comments (1)

Good work, Agatha! Your story had a beginning, middle, and an end. You had logical ways in the middle of your story to get Santa out of the chimney. I like how you jumped back with fright when Santa asked for his hat back at the beginning of the story. I can just imagine you doing this! I really like how you explained what you did when you melted the butter. You used excellent onomatopoeia words such as sizzled and sputtered. This description helps the reader visualize this in their mind. You could have added a few more details to other ways of getting Santa out of the chimney. You could of explained how you tugged and tugged to get Santa out of the chimney etc. Your font colour was easy to read and your pictures related well to your story. I hope you had a wonderful Christmas! Keep up the hard work, Agatha! 🙂

Write a comment

Skip to toolbar