Bird Skype

3

Posted by tinaf1516 | Posted in Language Arts | Posted on November 9, 2015

red

Ruby Crowned Kinglet

yellowI had an awesome day because we got to Skype about birds. We got to see a Saw-Whet Owl.  It had yellow eyes. It has a high pitched coo, coo sound. It is a tiny owl. Owls eat mice, deer, voles, young squirrels, shrews, and small birds. It has a catlike face. I really liked the Saw-Whet Owl. We saw a  Ruby Crowned Kinglet. The Ruby Crowned Kinglet weighed 7 grams, which is how much a loonie weighs.  It has a red head. It is the size of a loonie. It is a male and the colour is black and gray. It was funny when they weighed the birds because they put them in a container upside down, so they do not fly away.  The Fox Sparrow is fuzzy like a fox. It has a tiny gray head with brown wings. It enjoys seeds and thick bill. The Yellow Rumped Warbler enjoys berries.  It has yellow on its tail. When the biologists put a band on the bird they used a tong. My favourite part was seeing the Saw-Whet Owl.

foxowl

Comments (3)

Good work, Tina! You explained what the birds looked like and what they ate. Continue working on adding more detail and descriptive language to your Remembrance Day letter. I agree it was funny when the weighed the birds. I thought the Fox Sparrow was cute! I really enjoyed seeing the Saw-Whet Owl! Great job with your font colour selection and pictures. Keep working hard, Tina! 🙂

Hi Tina, I’m glad you enjoyed visiting us at Long Point Bird Observatory to study migrating birds! I really like the photo you posted of the Ruby-crowned Kinglet. Usually, it’s bright red patch is concealed (hidden from view), but is flared when the bird is excited or stressed, like the bird in the photo.

Good job, Tina. I liked how you carefully explained what the birds looked like. I really like your pictures and where you placed them. I liked how you started your bird Skype. My favourite part was also when we got to see the Saw-Whet Owl.

Write a comment

Skip to toolbar